Dodis

Open Science

The Diplomatic Documents of Switzerland research centre has always advocated open access to knowledge, and with its database Dodis – which went online in 1997 – was among the pioneers in the digital humanities in Switzerland. This programmatic adoption of the idea of «open science» is reflected in all Dodis products.

open data

The Dodis database offers access to documents central to the history of Swiss foreign policy and supplements these with research-based meta-data, creating a unique, high-quality body of sources on the history of international relations after 1848. The database’s contents are freely available to all, at any time.

In addition, information on the documents and their origin is available as open data, in a variety of formats, at opendata.dodis.ch for further use. Dodis moreover cooperates with Europeana, offering a selection of its data to a large audience on that platform.

Dodis implements a data management plan and observes the FAIR data principles as well as the Swiss Academy of the Humanities and Social Sciences’ open-science policy.

open access

All volumes of the «Diplomatic Documents of Switzerland» (DDS) print edition are available for download on our website.

In order to publish research based on sources freely provided by Dodis in a no-fuss, innovative manner and in open-access form, Dodis has developed two new serial publications: Quaderni di Dodis for monographs and edited collections, and Saggi di Dodis for shorter research papers. Both are published as e-journals, are peer-reviewed, and available in all major e-book formats.

open source

Dodis promotes the use of open-source software and actively participates in advancing relevant projects.

 

Our Impressum lists contact details as well as our privacy policy and terms of use.

Dodis

Open Science

Seit jeher setzt sich die Forschungsstelle Diplomatische Dokumente der Schweiz für den offenen Zugang zu Wissen ein und gehörte mit der Datenbank Dodis – die seit 1997 online ist – zu den Pionieren der Digital Humanities in der Schweiz. Dieses weitreichende Bekenntnis zur Idee von «Open Science» spiegelt sich in allen Produkten von Dodis wider.

Open Data
Die Datenbank Dodis erschliesst zentrale Dokumente zur Geschichte der schweizerischen Aussenpolitik und reichert diese mit forschungsbasierten Metadaten an. So entsteht ein unvergleichbarer, qualitativ hochwertiger Quellenkorpus zur Geschichte der internationalen Beziehungen ab 1848. Die Inhalte der Datenbank sind für alle jederzeit frei zugänglich.

Informationen zu den Dokumenten und ihrer Herkunft stehen darüber hinaus als Open Data in unterschiedlichen Formaten zur Weiterverarbeitung unter opendata.dodis.ch zur Verfügung. Dodis kooperiert ausserdem mit Europeana und stellt einen Teilbestand ihrer Daten dort einem breiten Publikum zur Verfügung.

Dodis verfügt über einen Datenmanagementplan und berücksichtigt die FAIR-Data-Prinzipien sowie die Open Science Policy der Schweizerischen Akademie der Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften.

Open Access
Die Bände der gedruckten Edition «Diplomatische Dokumente der Schweiz» (DDS) stehen online auf der Website zum Download bereit.
Um Forschungsergebnisse, die aus der Beschäftigung mit den in Dodis frei verfügbaren Quellen entstanden sind, unkompliziert und gleichzeitig innovativ im Open Access zu publizieren, führt Dodis die Publikationsreihe Quaderni di Dodis für Monographien und Sammelbände sowie das e-Journal Saggi di Dodis für kürzere Abhandlungen. Beide Publikationen sind peer reviewed und stehen sowohl als Druckbild als auch in den gängigen e-Book-Formaten zur Verfügung.

Open Source
Dodis setzt sich für die Verwendung von Open-Source-Software ein und beteiligt sich selbst an der Weiterentwicklung entsprechender Projekte.

 

Im Impressum finden sich die Kontaktangaben sowie die Datenschutz- und Nutzungsbestimmungen.