International Conference of Editors of Diplomatic Documents

In 2013 Switzerland will host the 12th International Conference of Editors of Diplomatic Documents.

About the international conference

The international network of Editors of Diplomatic Documents was founded in 1988. Delegations from different parts of the world met for the first time in London in 1989. Since then, the reunions took place every second year in Ottawa, Rome, Bonn, Washington, Canberra, Paris and Dublin. In 2009 the conference was organised in The Hague and in 2011 in Jerusalem. For the first time the conference will take place in Switzerland in 2013. The group consists of institutions from about 30 countries, which publish or intend to publish collections of documents on the international relations of their respective countries.

Main focus

Every conference consists of two parts, a technical and a scientific one: In the first part, methodological aspects regarding the printed and online publication as well as the development of databases are discussed. The scientific part consists of a series of presentations on a certain historical subject, such as a jubilee (as f.e. the double crisis of Suez and Budapest of 1956, which were analysed in Rome in 1996) or a specific subject (as f.e. the politics regarding development aid, which were discussed in The Haye).

Research cooperation

Historical research on international relations requires the cooperation between independent universities and the respective ministries of foreign affairs. The period of research, the financing and the organisation of the publication of diplomatic documents can vary greatly from country to country. The research group of the Diplomatic Documents of Switzerland is an enterprise of the Swiss Academy of Humanities and Social Sciences and therefore independent of the government.

Services for research

The published documents are an easy accessible source of information that is useful not only for historical research at universities, but also for everyone who is interested in the history of international relations. The documents are moreover consulted by diplomats, journalists, teachers and biographers. The first ones to publish these documents in printed volumes were the great powers. These series have been continued and now contain hundreds, even thousands of volumes. In addition, new means of publication were developed: microfilms, disks and most importantly the internet. More and more countries and international organisations are publishing their diplomatic documents. These international conferences have therefore become important and useful for the editors to exchange information, techniques and scientific knowledge and experiences.

Organisation of Geneva 2013

The Conference of 2013 is organised by the research group of the Diplomatic Documents of Switzerland in collaboration with the United Nations Office in Geneva (UNOG) and with the support of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA) and the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI). The subjects to be discussed are the digitalisation of documents, electronic databases, online publishing and the history of international organisations.


More information.

Conférence internationale des éditeurs de documents diplomatiques

En 2013, la Suisse accueillera à Genève la 12ème Conférence internationale des éditeurs de documents diplomatiques.

Association internationale

Créé en 1988, le groupe des éditeurs de documents diplomatiques s'est réuni pour la première fois en 1989 à Londres en présence de délégations de plusieurs continents. Puis, tous les deux ans, des rencontres ont eu lieu à Ottawa, Rome, Bonn, Washington, Canberra, Paris et Dublin. En 2009, la réunion a été organisée à La Haye, puis en 2011 à Jérusalem. C’est la première fois qu’elle aura lieu en Suisse. Le groupe compte une trentaine de pays qui publient ou s’apprêtent à publier des collections de documents portant sur leurs relations internationales.

Deux priorités

Chaque réunion se compose de deux parties, l’une technique et l’autre historiographique: la première partie porte sur les aspects méthodologiques de la publication, sur papier et sur Internet, et du développement des bases de données. La seconde partie est de nature historiographique: elle comporte une série d’exposés autour d’un sujet historique, qui est choisi selon des critères chronologiques (par exemple, la double crise de Suez et de Budapest en 1956, développée à Rome en 1996) ou thématiques (par exemple, les politiques de coopération au développement, analysées à La Haye en 2009).

Collaboration scientifique

Dans tous les pays, ces travaux historiques impliquent des collaborations entre universitaires indépendants et fonctionnaires des Ministères des affaires étrangères. Selon les pays et les périodes étudiées, le financement, l’organisation et la publication des travaux peuvent être très différents. En Suisse, les éditeurs des Documents Diplomatiques Suisses sont indépendants du gouvernement et organisés en tant qu’entreprise de recherche de l’Académie suisse des sciences humaines et sociales.

Prestations pour la science

Les documents publiés constituent une source d’informations facilement accessibles et fort utiles pour les études historiques et universitaires, mais aussi pour toutes les personnes qui s’intéressent à l’histoire des relations internationales. Des diplomates, des journalistes, des enseignants, des biographes consultent ainsi les documents diplomatiques. Ces textes ont initialement été publiés par de grandes puissances qui ont édité des volumes imprimés. A côté de ces séries qui continuent d’exister et comptent des centaines, voire des milliers, de volumes, d’autres moyens de publication sont apparus: microfilms, disquettes et surtout Internet. En outre, d’autres pays, toujours plus nombreux, publient des documents. Des organisations internationales éditent aussi des textes. Ces conférences sont d’autant plus utiles pour échanger des informations, techniques et historiographiques, et pour échanger des expériences sur différents projets.

Organisation et perspective

La Conférence de 2013 est organisée par le Groupe de recherche des Documents Diplomatiques Suisses avec le concours de l’Office des Nations Unies à Genève (ONUG), dont la Bibliothèque gère les archives historiques de l'ONUG et de la Société des Nations, et avec le soutien du Département fédéral des affaires étrangères (DFAE) et du Secrétariat d'Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation (SEFRI). Les thèmes traités aborderont notamment la digitalisation des documents, les bases de données électroniques, la mise en ligne des informations, ainsi que l’histoire des organisations internationales.

En savoir plus.